ATTENTION Teachers of Forecasting! The IIF is offering prizes to top-performing students in undergraduate and graduate level forecasting courses. Star students will receive US$100, a Certificate of Achievement, and complimentary, one-year membership of the Institute.

To qualify for the award, the course must (a) be taught by an IIF member at a recognised and reputable university, (b) have a substantial forecasting content, and (c) be a substantial course with at least 20 hours contact time. See below for complete guidelines. To participate, contact [email protected]

Award Recipients

Seminar in Economic Forecasting
Joshua Sack 2023
Gustavo Rojas Matute 2018

Forecasting and Time Series Models
Jaime Ziegenfuss Whitehead Fall 2023
Veronica McCurdy Spring 2023
Mohit Dhungana 2022

Jiajun Ma 2022
Jeanne De Lagarcie, 2020

Operations Analytics
Yining Jiang 2019
Lina Wang 2018
Shupeng Huang 2016
Junxiong Gao 2015

Multivariate Analysis
Adrian Edo Martin 2022
Abhinav Sapru 2020
Antonio Lo Fiego 2019
Qing Fan

Time Series Econometrics
Junie Joseph 2022

Empirical Economic Modeling and Forecasting

Nadia Palesa Mnguni 2024
Ziming Long 2023
Victoria Tribone 2022
Rena Horiguchi 2021
Kaitlyn O’Neill 2020
Andrea Cañas 2018

Forecasting: Theory and Practice
Pavel Stephan Zwerschke 2021
David Strieder 2019

Probabilistic Time Series Forecasting Challenge
Valentin Mohl 2022

Time series and AI Forecasting
Soohyun Kim 2023
Juyoun Lee 2022
Hokyun Kim 2021
Sangjin Park 2020

Business Analytics
Simon Enthoven 2020

Business in Forecasting
Ashley Carrington 2022/23
Nilay Patel 2021/22
Nicolas Yiannakou 2020/21

Business Forecasting
Joseph Christian Singson 2023
Darcy Narita 2022
Jarryd Chapman 2021
Eléonore Charles 2020
Kassandra Kler 2019
Jack Francis Cameron  2018
Kai Lim Fu 2017
Yuejun Zhao 2016
Frances Kim 2015

Applied Forecasting
Jonas Chiong Lik Tiong 2023
Syn Min Mindy Tay 2022
Daniel Ong
Sao Yang Hew 2020
Elizaveta Koshenko 2019
Yangzhuoran Yang 2018
Dean Mor Dagan 2017
Jack Davies 2016
Mitchell O’Hara-Wild 2014

Forecasting Techniques
Dimitrios-David Gerokonstantis 2023
Odysseas Boufalis 2022
Nikolaos Ch. Dikaros 2021
Efstathia Statha 2020
Thomas Georgiou 2019
Andreas Christou 2018
Kalliopi-Anastasia Kourti 2016
Dimitrellos Panagiotis 2015

Service Operations Management
Feng Gao 2023
Ruiyang Jin 2021
Fan Zhang 2020
Hanqi Wen 2019
Xin Pan 2018

Time Series Analysis and Forecasting Models
Mateus da Rocha Peixoto 2023
Jéssica Villar de Assumpção 2022
Fernanda Nucci 2020
Hernani Justo da Silva Júnior 2019
William Peersen Rossetto Portela 2018

Power System Forecasting
Zhuoxiao Cheng 2023
Zelin Sun 2022
Jiaxin Wang 2021
Ni Tan 2020
Xiao Cai 2019
Zhigang Liu 2018
Dahua Gan 2017

Business Statistics and Forecasting (MSc)
Nadeen Tameesh 2024
Siwach Rungnarongruck 2023
Ningkai Zheng 2022
Elizabeth Yardley 2021
Anupong Wannakrairot 2020
Ning Tang 2019
Yves Philippe Mauron 2018
Baihua Chen 2017

Business Forecasting (undergrad)
Rebekah Link 2023
Zeyu Zhang 2021
Eliott Newman 2020
Rachel Hall 2018

Introduction to Time Series Analysis
Sara Tyo 2023
Jessica Wong 2022

Forecasting for Economics and Business
Alexander Enriquez 2019
Huhao Zhu 2018
Khaled Zalloum 2017
Yuka Ko 2015

Forecasting Techniques, Methodologies and Practice
John Henrichs Welch 2021
Vinayak Sharma 2020

Energy Analytics
Rajnish Deo 2022
Shreyashi Shukla 2018
Matthew Withrow 2017
Yang Sun 2016
Xiazhi Fang 2015
Jingrui Xie 2014

Forecasting for Economics and Business
Chen Lyu 2023
Samuel Gruenler 2021
Tyler Bove 2020

Advanced Time Series
Thibault Lelievre 2019
Capucine Nobletz 2018
M. Florian Morvillier 2016
Benjamin Ergon 2015
Juliana Millovich 2014

Applied Times Series Analysis for Forecasting
Haochen Zhu 2021
Shihao (Michael) Ma 2019
Sebastian Calderon 2018
Sheng Ming 2017
Mingbo Gong 2016

Business Forecasting
Kai Vincent 2023
Rheza Mahendra Utama 2022
Beck Latham 2021
Jenny Jiyun Choi 2020
Peter Simon 2016

Forecasting for Economics and Business
Zachary Duretto 2019
Noah Kaplan 2018
Matthew Bova 2015
Alexandre Carlton 2014


  1. The instructor of the course must be an active IIF member when submitting the application and during the award period.
  2. We encourage courses that promote the field of forecasting, by having ‘forecasting’ in the course title or having at least 15 hours of instruction dedicated to forecasting.
  3. The subject is taught at a recognised and reputable university.
  4. When a university requests an award for one of their subjects, the decision on whether to grant the award is to be made by a designated member of the IIF board.
  5. Approval of a subject for an IIF award is reviewed every three years.
  6. The award is to consist of US$100 cash prize plus a one year IIF membership for the selected student.
  7. The teacher who is the IIF member is to advise the IIF of the winning student in each year.  There will only be one award per course per year AND no more than one award per IIF member.
  8. The IIF reserves the right to cancel the program at any time.