Every two years, the International Journal of Forecasting awards a prize to the best paper on energy forecasting. The prize is generously funded by Professor Tao Hong. This year, we will award the prize to a paper published in the IJF during the period 2017-2018. The prize will be US$1000 plus an engraved plaque. The award committee is composed of James MitchellRafał Weron and Pierre Pinson.

Nominations are invited from any reader of the IJF. Each person may nominate up to three papers, but you cannot nominate a paper that you have coauthored yourself. Papers coauthored by Tao Hong or one of the award committee are not eligible for the prize. All nominations are to be accompanied by a short statement (up to 200 words) from the nominator, explaining why the paper deserves an award.

You can see the relevant papers published in the period 2017-2018 on Google Scholar. Of course, a good paper does not always get noticed, so don’t let the citation count sway you too much in nominating what you consider to be the best IJF paper from this period.

Send nominations to Pierre Pinson, IJF Editor-in-Chief, by 20 May 2020.

For more information, visit the IIF-Tao Hong award site.

Past winners:

  • 2015-2016 IIF Tao Hong Award: Pierre Gaillard, Yannig Goude and Raphael Nedellec (2016) Additive models and robust aggregation for GEFCom2014 probabilistic electric load and electricity price forecasting”. International Journal of Forecasting 32(3): 1038-1050.
  • 2013-2014 IIF Tao Hong Award: Rafał Weron (2014) “Electricity price forecasting: A review of the state-of-the-art with a look into the future”, International Journal of Forecasting 30(4): 1030–1081.

Share Post!

Subscribe to Blog