NOMINATION OF FELLOWS OF THE INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE OF FORECASTERS

Every year the IIF Board of Directors honors distinguished forecasters with the title of IIF Fellow. This recognition is based on contributions to the field of forecasting and for service provided to the Institute and/or the Institute's journals, the International Journal of Forecasting and Foresight. The Board of Directors invites the IIF members to send nominations for Fellows to the following e-mail address:

Gloria González-Rivera gloria.gonzalez@ucr.edu

The Board will then vote if fellowship can be awarded to any of the proposed candidates.

The first Fellows of IIF were elected in 1996. The Board of Directors again wishes to honor distinguished forecasters at the next International Symposium on Forecasting (ISF).

The guidelines, approved by the board, for the election of Fellows and a list of current Fellows is given below.

GUIDELINES

- 1. A maximum of three Fellows may be selected each year. Normally only one or two Fellows will be so honored.
- 2. A candidate should be (or have been in past) an IIF member and should have provided significant service to the Institute and/or the Institute's journals <u>and</u> have performed with distinction in two or more of the following areas:
 - Forecasting practice;
 - Research and scholarship in forecasting;
 - Teaching forecasting;

Examples of service to the Institute and/or the Institute's journals include:

- Organization of an International Symposium on Forecasting, either as chair, co-chair or program chair;
- Organization of IIF workshops;
- Chair, vice chair, secretary of an IIF Section or Chapter;
- IIF Summer School instructor;
- ISF keynote speaker;
- IIF Director;
- Editors roles for the IJF and/or Foresight;
- Editing or co-editing special issues or sections for the IJF;
- Proposals brought to the IIF that have enhanced the organization and its membership.
- Candidates for Fellow should be nominated by at least three members of the Institute. The
 nomination should include a letter of nomination that describes the candidate's
 contributions in each of the areas listed in item 2. The nominations process would start
 afresh each year; that is, unsuccessful candidates would need to be re-nominated.

- 4. The nomination process is the following:
 - a. The director in charge of Fellows will ask for nominations in the first week of April of each year;
 - b. Nominations will be sent to the director in charge of Fellows by end of April;
 - c. The director in charge will initiate discussions as to whether the criteria are satisfied among the committee and present nominees that satisfy the criteria to the board meeting;
 - d. Vote should be done at the board meeting;
 - e. The director in charge of Fellows should notify the Fellow of their election and ask their agreement just after the vote.
- 5. IIF Fellows receive a lifetime IIF membership upon acceptance of the Fellowship.
- 6. Current members of the Board of Directors are not eligible for election as Fellows, nor are immediate past directors for a period of two years.
- 7. The elected Fellow(s) will be encouraged to attend the next year's ISF where a ceremony will be held in their honor. The cost of their travel will not be covered by the Institute, unless they give a keynote lecture *and* the current ISF sponsors keynote travel.

LIST OF FELLOWS

John Boylan (2022)

Rob J. Hyndman (2021)

Esther Ruiz (2020)

Antonio Garcia-Ferrer (2018)

James Stock (2017)

Mark Watson (2017)

Ralph Snyder (2016)

Philip Hans Franses (2015)

Michael Clements (2014)

Timo Teräsvirta (2014)

Paul Goodwin (2013)

P. Geoffrey Allen (2012)

Francis X. Diebold (2012)

Robert Fildes (2010)

Lars-Erik Öller (2010)

Kajal Lahiri (2009)

Marcus O'Connor (2009)

Roy Batchelor (2008)

Jan G. De Gooijer (2008)

Robert Engle (2008)

Peter C. Young (2007)

Everette S. Gardner, Jr. (2007)

Michael Lawrence (2006)

Anne B. Koehler (2006)

Wil Gorr (2005)

Chris Chatfield (2003)

Keith Ord (2003)

Hans Levenbach (2002)

Kenneth F. Wallis (2002)

Robert Goodrich (2001)

David Hendry (2001)

Herman Stekler (2001)

Arnold Zellner (2001)

Stephen McNees (1999)

Muhittin Oral(1999)

J. Scott Armstrong (1996) Clive

Granger (1996)

Robert G. Brown (1996)

Estela Dagum (1996)

Spyros Makridakis (1996)