History of the IIF

Home/About the IIF/History of the IIF

IIF History – evolution of the premier, international forecasting organization

1979   The International Institute of Forecasters was started by J. Scott Armstrong, Spyros Makridakis, Robert Carbone, and Robert Fildes, with support from INSEAD. The first journal was published by Wiley Publishing: the Journal of Forecasting. The objectives of the journal and the future ISFs were to promote the “Science of Forecasting” and scientific research. Within the first 2 years of publication, the journal had one of the highest citation rates.

1981   The first International Symposium on Forecasting (ISF) took place in Quebec with the goal of promoting the journal and generating content. The first conference started with invited papers from important names in the field, including Nobel Prize recipients.

1982   As part of ISF 1982, the IIF first began taking membership

1983   The ISF took place in Philadelphia, with Scott Armstrong as General Chair. Through mass advertising and promotion, including WSJ, Economist, an interview on Voice of America, and a direct mail piece sent to 300,000, the attendance was the highest in ISF history, approximately 1,000 attendees.

1985   After negotiations with on the future of the Journal of Forecasting with Wiley were unsuccessful, the IIF created the International Journal of Forecasting and negotiated our current relationship with Elsevier, under the direction of Michael Lawrence. The first editors of the IJF were Spyros Makridakis (1985-1987) and J. Scott Armstrong (1988-1989).

1985   After the ISF in Montreal, the IIF formed a board of directors and the current constitution. Estela Dagum was instrumental in drafting the first Constitution.

IIF Presidents

Gloria Gonzalez-Rivera, 2016-
Mohsen Hamoudia, 2012-2016
Antonio Garcia Ferrer, 2008-2012
P. Geoffrey Allen, 2006-2008
Lars-Erik Öller, 2004-2006
Robert Fildes, 2000-2004
Michael Lawrence, 1996-1999
Hans Levenbach, 1994-1996
Stu Bretschneider, 1992-1994
Everette Gardner, 1990-1992
Robert Winkler, 1989-1990
Estela Dagum, 1988-1989
Spyros Makridakis, 1986-1988
J. Scott Armstrong, 1982-1986

International Symposium on Forecasting (ISF)

The first ISF was held in 1981 in Quebec. Browse our program guides and proceedings to see where we’ve been and where we’ll be going.

Interviews with our Founding Fathers

J. Scott Armstrong – The Oracle, 2012 article
Spyros Makridakis – International Journal of Forecasting, 2006 article

Past Editors of the International Journal of Forecasting